Downsizing

In an update to a post I made…oh dear 3 years ago…

https://willowrs.wordpress.com/2015/05/08/downsizing-and-my-families-apparent-marie-kondo-obsession/

I eventually gave in and read this book. Well, I say read…and I say book. Really the whole premise of her ‘method’ could be summed up on a post-it note. I am not going to be the one to begrudge her a decent moneymaker however…and I never finished the book, because I came to this conclusion at a relatively early point about a third of the way in. Skimmed the chapter headings and realised she hadn’t actually got that much to say on the subject to warrant killing the trees and pulping them for this particular book.

In my opinion!

I know lots of people who think she is great and that’s absolutely fine. She does have some very sensible suggestions though.

a) Discard first and then put things away.

b) Don’t do it by storage area…drawer etc, Do it by ‘subject’. For example; clothing. Gather ALL your clothing and lay it out in front of you, so you can see exactly what you actually have and then start making your discard decisions. Don’t put anything back unless you really want/need it.

c) Don’t let anyone else get involved, as they will persuade you to keep things or pass them on to people etc.

Kondo reckons you should do it as one big event. Personally I did it in as many subject sections as I could feasibly manage at one time, and still make good decisions. So mine took a few days. But actually I think that that was a good thing, and ultimately far less stressful.

I do have one stipulation on her suggestions of discard however. I do not know if Charity/Thrift shops are a thing outside of the UK/USA/Canada type places, so maybe there aren’t really any other options, but she advocates binning the lot. I advocate donating all that is suitable instead. Invariably their probably will be a spot of landfill. Hopefully a lot that can be either donated or at worst; recycled.

End results;

a) I charity shopped a hell of a lot more stuff than I had really anticipated I would.

b) I had more things than I really thought I had…granted, now I don’t but…

c) My room is much easier to keep tidy and uncluttered.

I got rid of penfriend letters from my teens, which I have never re-read again (I did reread them, before recycling as I wanted to make sure), clothing, books, stationary, excess all sorts. Generally I feel more…free and actually slightly invigorated by the deep clean and reorganisation.

Give it a whirl. Just please recycle/donate as much as possible.

About Nerdsbian

I am a nerd for ALL seasons. I am a genderqueer Librarian who unsurprisingly likes reading...a lot But I love being outside too...sometimes even reading at the same time. Also animals, any and all of them. Never yet met one that didn't get on with me and vice versa. I do a couple of different voluntary jobs (animal charity related) and have recently completed my MA.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

