Election 2015

I think that this was the most disappointing Election result I have ever witnessed…or voted in. Another 5 years of the Tories led by the Hamhock. I cannot decide whether I am simply surprised that people voluntarily voted him in again (at least he legitimately takes power this time as compared to the last election, I suppose) or disappointed at the apathy (66.1%) of those not even bothering to turn out and vote that enabled the Conservatives to gain more seats.

Also the utter, I want to say idiocy but I equally firmly believe that every person should vote without the constraints of other peoples opinions…so I think I will settle for  incomprehensible to me vote for the Tories. Why would you want to vote for a party that wants to ruin the school system, eradicate the NHS making basic medical care cost for those who really cannot afford it. Ultimately they are only benefiting the microcosmic sector of the rich and those willing to take monetary bribes in order to ensure that they can continue tax evasion etc.

That Liberal Democrats lost so many seats is not in the least bit surprising, given their utter failure to follow through with any of their 2010 election campaign promises. In one foolhardy desperate bid for a glimpse at being in power, Clegg has managed to effectively erase all the forward movement the Lib Dem’s have done over the years in striving towards a genuine bid for sole leadership. I honestly cannot see them ever gaining the momentum to be a serious political threat for a very long time.

The SNP did extremely well in Scotland. I am curious to know (which we never will) if the SNP landslide was due to the strength of Nicola Sturgeon or if the Scottish Referendum failure led to a higher SNP vote. I suspect that if they held another Referendum, Scotland would now gain independence.  But there is the whole Catch-22 element in regards to SNP/Referendum.

Interesting. In a wholly depressing, genuinely cogitating moving to a desert island kind of way.

I voted for the Green party knowing full well that they would never win. I voted for them in the vain hopes that they would gain even a few extra seats in order to ensure that some sort of moral, ethical and reasonable voice was involved in Parliament, because there was no other way for that to be achieved (if the last 5 years are anything to go by). Considering the amount of votes they did get (eta: 1,157,613), it is a real shame that their seat count is not representational of the amount of people voting for them.

Also, rot in your little bigoted, homophobic, xenophobic little hell Nigel Farage you ignorant little rodent. His smug weaselly loss was the entire highlight of this plane crash of an election.

Hope you voted.

Tobi

About Nerdsbian

I am a nerd for ALL seasons. I am a genderqueer wlw Librarian who unsurprisingly likes reading...a lot But I love being outside too...sometimes even reading at the same time. Also animals, any and all of them. Never yet met one that didn't get on with me and vice versa. I do a couple of different voluntary jobs (animal charity related) and have recently completed my MA.
This entry was posted in Essay, Thoughts. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

