In my mailbox 1st-7th January

I’ve read about this idea on several book blogs I have recently started keeping an eye on and thought the idea was quite interesting. However, I should perhaps start out by saying that this will not be a regular thing, because it is very rare I buy books by post… or at all for that matter. I do however, trade fairly regularly; using the lovely international bookmooch.com, but they tend to arrive in fits and starts.

I did however place an order of some much desired books just after Christmas from amazon.co.uk which arrived this week (with amazon blurbs). (Crossed out ones are ones I have now read)

  1. Hero – Perry MooreFunny, exciting novel about a teenage boy growing up with two secrets: one, that he has superpowers – two, that he’s gay. And he gets to save the world . . .
  2. Sprout – Dale Peck 4/5When Sprout and his father move from Long Island to the midst of rural Kansas after the death of his mother, he is sure he will find no friends, no love, no beauty. But friends find him, the strangeness of the landscape fascinates him, and when love shows up in an unexpected place, Sprout realises that Kansas is not quite as empty as he thought it was going to be. An incredible, literary story of a boy who knows he is gay in a the town that seems to have no place for him to hide.
  3. Paper Towns – John Green 4/5 Who is the real Margo? Quentin Jacobsen has spent a lifetime loving the magnificently adventurous Margo Roth Spiegelman from afar. So when she cracks open a window and climbs into his life – dressed like a ninja and summoning him for an ingenious campaign of revenge – he follows. After their all-nighter ends and a new day breaks, Q arrives at school to discover that Margo, always an enigma, has now become a mystery. She has disappeared. Q soon learns that there are clues in her disappearance …and they are for him. Trailing Margo’s disconnected path across the USA, the closer Q gets, the less sure he is of who he is looking for.
  4. My Most Excellent Year – Steve Kluger 5/5
  5. Crush – Jane Futcher Jinx learns a great deal about herself at fashionable Huntington Hill Boarding School, where she is “adopted” by rich, beautiful, self-possessed Lexie, who gains Jinx’s willing adoration.
  6. When you reach me – Rebecca Stead 3/5

These are being saved for reading for a few weeks more due to recent library visits/sucess, so I am looking forward to actually reading the above no9vels in the not too distant future.

From bookmooch.com;

The Power of Three – Eliza Willard

In my defence this final book was something of a cascade failure of my cheesy fiction weakness. Having recently inhaled season 1 of Charmed on DVD (borrowed it from a friend), I had the pressing desire to read at least the first book… even though it is almost entirely the first episode in novelisation form. No matter. I have read this before, I found it to be one of the least abhorrant of the novelisations whilst generally, when I was reading them as a teenager, I found them to be rather hit and miss and sadly usually more miss than hit. That said a little cheese never hurt anybody, unless they have a dairy intolerance, and is sometimes exactly what is needed.

About Nerdsbian

I am a nerd for ALL seasons. I am a genderqueer Librarian who unsurprisingly likes reading...a lot But I love being outside too...sometimes even reading at the same time. Also animals, any and all of them. Never yet met one that didn't get on with me and vice versa. I do a couple of different voluntary jobs (animal charity related) and have recently completed my MA.
This entry was posted in Reading lists and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

