Wake – Lisa McMann (2008)

Book Blogger Rec’s #2

From amazon.co.uk:

For seventeen-year-old Janie, getting sucked into other people’s dreams at any given moment is getting tired. Especially the falling dreams, and the standing-in-front-of-the-class-naked ones. But then there are the nightmares, the ones that chill her to the bone…like the one where she is in a strange house…in a dirty kitchen…and a sinister monster that edges ever closer. This is the nightmare that she keeps falling into, the one where, for the first time, Janie is more than a witness to someone else’s twisted psyche. She is a participant…

Whilst I did enjoy this book, I found it a bit of a let down having picked it up straight after “Stay” – Gayle Forman which I really enjoyed. However, it is not even remotely fair to judge one book based on an experience from the previously read.

The central idea of the novel (jumping into other peoples dreams and whether or not you could then make a difference to those dreams) was rather intriguing, though I felt that it left an awful lot of ground uncovered, such as the moral implications of watching peoples dreams and attempting to then influence them. The book is part of a trilogy though, so maybe this, and other aspects that left me questionning, will be explored in the subsequent books in the series.

Whilst on the one hand I liked (and appreciated) that this wasn’t particularly an ‘issue’ book based on the home lives of the two main characters, which given events in Janie and Cabels lives it could very easily have become one, I equally wish that they had explored this element a little more, but again maybe that is an aspect of further novels.

I found Janie, and indeed Cabel, Mrs Stubin and Captain, to all be very likeable and intriguing characters. Whilst Melinda, Shay, Carrie (and her parents) and Janie’s Mom seemed rather two dimensional and rather flat, whilst not really adding a massive amount to the progress and themes of the novel. But again, all may perhaps become clearer on this front.

Overall I rather enjoyed this book, I certainly found it very readable, and the prose approachable and enjoyable and indeed I would read it again and also the subsequent books out of intrigue.

4/5

About Nerdsbian

I am a nerd for ALL seasons. I am a genderqueer Librarian who unsurprisingly likes reading...a lot But I love being outside too...sometimes even reading at the same time. Also animals, any and all of them. Never yet met one that didn't get on with me and vice versa. I do a couple of different voluntary jobs (animal charity related) and have recently completed my MA.
This entry was posted in Reading Challenges, Reviews and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

