15 more from ”1001′ books to read before you die’ 2011

Yet another reading challenge I am setting myself… at least I’ve not signed up to this one anywhere that I could find.

I’m trying to be a little more… challenged rather than focused, with my reading for next year. I suspect what it actually comes down to is an excuse to read more, and that I am rather partial to goals and striving to achieve them. Which is just fine by me.

So, in addtion to the couple of other reading challenges I have decided to take part in (GLBT 2011, TBR 40) there is this one. To read 15 (more) books (since I have already read 29) from the updated 2010 list  from ‘1001 books to read before you die’ except that it is now up to 1294… mmm more choice.

Tentative list of reads…

  1. Frankenstein – Mary Wollstonecraft Shelley
  2. A Christmas Carol – Charles Dickens
  3. The Strange case of Dr Jekyll and Mr Hyde– Robert Louis Stevenson (9/3/11)
  4. The Time Machine – H.G. Wells
  5. Ethan Frome– Edith Wharton (6/3/11)
  6. The Maltese Falcon – Dashiell Hammett
  7. The Hobbit – J.R.R. Tolkien
  8. I, Robot– Isaac Asimov
  9. Franny and Zooey – J.D. Salinger
  10. I Know Why the Caged Bird Sings – Maya Angelou
  11. If on a winter’s night a traveller – Italo Calvino
  12. The Cider House Rules – John Irving
  13. Annie John – Jamaica Kincaid (9/3/11)
  14. Of Mice and Men – John Steinbeck (7/3/11)
  15. The Yellow wallpaper – Charlotte Gilman Perkins (7/3/11)

Also, a couple of these cross over with other challenges… which is nice.

About Nerdsbian

I am a nerd for ALL seasons. I am a genderqueer Librarian who unsurprisingly likes reading...a lot But I love being outside too...sometimes even reading at the same time. Also animals, any and all of them. Never yet met one that didn't get on with me and vice versa. I do a couple of different voluntary jobs (animal charity related) and have recently completed my MA.
This entry was posted in Reading Challenges, Reading lists and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

