TBR…self challenge 11/12/10 – 11/12/11

Due to the newfound joys of bookmooch.com, I am finding that my TBR (To Be Read) pile is growing in somewhat epic proportions. This is not in and of itself an issue, however since there are so many other books that I also want  to read, or will come across and choose to read throughout the coming year, I thought I would make myself a pledge to make my way through a significant portion of my TBR pile.

So, I am pledging to read 40 of my TBR pile, starting from the 11/12/10 running for a year until 11/12/11. So far I have managed to read four which is what prompted me into making this more public announcement that I would work through more of reading pile. I figured if I could make it through four straight off the bat then…

Some of them cross over into my GLBT challenge for this year, the four I intially stated in my challenge post for a start.

So then, the list… allowing for 5 substituions at any given date… based on mood I suspect.

  1. Blume, Judy Are you there God? It’s me Margaret
  2. Bond, Michael Paddington takes the test
  3. Bond, Michael Paddington on top
  4. Brazil, Angela A Fourth form friendship
  5. Cane, Rachel Ill Wind
  6. Carter Bean, Douglas The Little dog laughed (play)
  7. Christie, Agatha Cat among the pigeons
  8. Cooper, Natasha Prey to all
  9. Creech, Sharon Walk two moons
  10. Curtis, Christopher Paul The Watsons go to Birmingham 1963
  11. Curtis, Christopher Bud, not Buddy
  12. d’Lacey, Chris Fly, Cherokee Fly
  13. Fitzhugh, Louise Nobody’s family is going to change
  14. Gaarder, Jostein The Christmas mystery
  15. Garden, Nancy Lark in the Morning (GLBT challenge)
  16. Gibson, William The Miracle worker (play)
  17. Gilbreth, Frank Jr & Ernestine Cheaper by the dozen
  18. Goldman, William The Princess Bride
  19. Good, Melissa Storm Surge (GLBT challenge)
  20. Hartnett, Sonya Thursdays Child
  21. Hill, Gerri In the name of the Father (GLBT challenge)
  22. Kaye, Marilyn Lydia
  23. Lo, Melinda Ash (GLBT challenge)
  24. Lowry, Lois Number the Stars
  25. Mezerich, Ben Skin
  26. Milne, A A The house at Pooh corner
  27. Milne, A A Winnie – the – Pooh
  28. Moon, Elizabeth Trading in Danger
  29. Moon, Elizabeth Moving Target
  30. Moon, Elizabeth Engaging the Enemy
  31. Moon, Elizabeth Command Decisions
  32. Moon, Elizabeth Victory Conditions
  33. New Mexico, Carter The education of Little Tree
  34. Newbery, Linda  Polly’s March
  35. Newbery, Linda The Cliff Path
  36. Newbery, Linda The Shouting Wind
  37. Sinclair, April Coffee will make you black
  38. Singer, Nicky Feather Boy

So, there you have it, the list as it stands with it’s read elements crossed off… (which is how I will update it) quite the challenge perhaps.

Additonal TBR books read:

  1. Sprout – Dale Peck (GLBT challenge)
  2. My most excellent year – Steve Kluger (GLBT challenge)
  3. Paper Towns – John Green
  4. Almost Perfect – Brian Katcher (GLBT challenge)
  5. When you reach me – Rebeacca Stead
  6. Jacob have I loved – Katherine Paterson

Additional TBR books to read:

  1. Hero – Perry Moore (GLBT challenge)
  2. Second star to the right – Debora Hautzig
  3. Wintergirls – Laurie Halse Anderson
  4. A fear of heights – Linda Newbery
  5. 50 Ways of saying Fabulous –   (GLBT challenge)
About Nerdsbian

I am a nerd for ALL seasons. I am a genderqueer wlw Librarian who unsurprisingly likes reading...a lot But I love being outside too...sometimes even reading at the same time. Also animals, any and all of them. Never yet met one that didn't get on with me and vice versa. I do a couple of different voluntary jobs (animal charity related) and have recently completed my MA.
This entry was posted in Reading Challenges, Reading lists and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

