GLBT 2011 reading challenge

Rules/Guidelines:

The basic idea of this challenge is to read books about GLBT topics and/or by GLBT authors. The challenge runs year-round as usual, but instead of requiring a certain number of books, this year I’m handling this challenge in a more do-it-yourself sort of fashion. You set your own goal. It doesn’t matter if that goal is 1 book, 10 books, a percentage of your books, or to read from various age groups/genres. Your goal is completely up to you. Design this the way you want. Make it work for you. The important thing here is simply to get us reading GLBT lit. You don’t need to choose your books right away, and they can change at any time. Overlaps with other challenges are fine.

Well, unsurprisingly this sounds like a challenge that is right up my street. Now since I read alot of GLBT literature to start with I am planning on reading ones that I have not read before and I am aiming for 10-20 books throughout the year.

Initially I have the following on my TBR pile that I am going to commit to reading:

Garden, Nancy  Lark in the morning

Good, Melissa  Storm Surge

Hill, Gerri  In the name of the Father

Lo, Melinda  Ash

I have a moohoosive wishlist which has a multitude of GLBT fiction on it, however success of reading those is based primarily upon ability to actually get hold of them and that is why they are on my wishlist in the first place. That said, I will add books as I acquire or actually read them that are pertinent to this challenge as and when.

Read

  1. Sprout – Dale Peck
  2. My most excellent year – Steve Kluger

  3.  

     

    (image and guidelines taken from: http://glbt-reading.blogspot.com/search/label/future%20challenge)

About Nerdsbian

I am a nerd for ALL seasons. I am a genderqueer wlw Librarian who unsurprisingly likes reading...a lot But I love being outside too...sometimes even reading at the same time. Also animals, any and all of them. Never yet met one that didn't get on with me and vice versa. I do a couple of different voluntary jobs (animal charity related) and have recently completed my MA.
This entry was posted in Lesbian fiction, LGBTQ, Reading Challenges and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to GLBT 2011 reading challenge

  1. RBHSOregon says:

    Great idea and a wonderfully relaxed approach! Every year I try to make sure that my reading list includes at least a couple of the “classics” that I never got around to, a couple of solid non-fiction works, and a healthy dose of LGBT works.

    Aa a librarian, I can’t help but make a couple of suggestions:

    Try some banned books

    There is a lot of great LGBT fiction for and about young adults. Great to recommend to teen readers and often better constructed stories that mainstream LGBT fiction for adults.

    • willowrs says:

      Hello,

      Thanks for your comments. I figured a relaxed approach was probably the best. I have read so many GLBTQ fiction over the years that the challenge is now more about finding new things to read. Luckily I have a few on my TBR pile to get me going.

      I completely agree that the YA fiction is often substantially better than fiction written for adults, I suspect the authors are aware that teenagers won’t just settle for any old shit, they want and require something that they can relate to in whatever form that might be.

      Thank you for the lists I will take a look and see if there is anything to add to my potential pile. Equally feel free to roam around here as I have several lists of recs and things i have read or wish to read that might also give you some ideas if you so desire.

      willowrs

Leave a Reply

