Random book meme.

Taken from prof susurro (word press) who took it from Feminist Texican’s twitter feed (apparently)

Favorite childhood book? What counts as a childhood book? I suppose… The little mouse, the red ripe strawberry and the very hungry bear – Audrey Wood, as a little kids book… from my pre-teen years I think I have read Little Women – Louisa M. Alcott the most.

What are you reading right now? I am in the ‘in-between’ stage, I read: Because of Winn-Dixie – Kate DiCamillo and Bang, Bang you’re dead – Narinder Dhami today and I’m not quite certain what I am going to read next… it might very well be A Bear called Paddington – Michael Bond… or it might not.

What books do you have on request at the library? Currently I don’t but that is not to say I won’t tomorrow.

Bad book habit? Taking them in the bath, although now I don’t have a bath and reading in the shower is just asking for trouble.

What do you currently have checked out at the library?

Bang, Bang you’re dead – Narinder Dhami,

Because of Winn-Dixie – Kate DiCamillo,

Katz oder Maus? – Christian Bieniek,

Clarice Bean: Don’t Look now – Lauren Child,

Genext – ,

Astonishing X-Men: Torn – Whedon,

X-Men Legacy: Salvage – ,

Poisoned Mind – Natasha Cooper,

A Bear called Paddington – Michael Bond,

Summer Knight – Jim Butcher,

The Mysterious affair at styles – Agatha Christie,

Red Harvest – Dashiel Hammett,

Marianne Dreams – Catherine Storr,

Tatort Schule – Gondolino.

(The ones in Bold are ready to be returned as I have finished them)

Do you have an e-reader? No, takes all the texture away.

Do you prefer to read one book at a time, or several at once? Depends, generally one at once, though sometimes I have a fiction and a non-fiction on the go at any one time.

Have your reading habits changed since starting a blog? Not one iota, I’m not sure Armageddon would change my reading habits unless they suddenly became extinct.

Least favorite book you read this year (so far?) The Canning Season – Polly Horvath Only got half way through it and I had to slog to get that far. It just didn’t grip me in any way.

Favorite book you’ve read this year? Dresden Files – Jim Butcher, I read the whole 13 book series in just over two weeks, loved them.

How often do you read out of your comfort zone? Sometimes I guess…

What is your reading comfort zone? School stories, Young adult, Science Fiction, Fantasy (but not sword and sourcery types), Graphic Novels, some crime… actually there isn’t much I won’t read, no hetero-normative romance crap though.

Can you read on the bus? I can read any place and anywhere.

Favorite place to read? On my windowsill… anywhere to be quite honest, I’m really not overly fussy, I can read standing up on the tube, or even walking to work, but I don’t generally do the latter anymore, too many main roads.

What is your policy on book lending? Always, to people I know and believe to be reliable about looking after the books and returning them (though that is an ‘at some point’ rather than with any great immediacy)

Do you ever dog-ear books? Never, the very idea gives me hives.

Do you ever write in the margins of your books? No, but I will sometimes insert post-its or notes on paper scraps.

Not even with text books? I did write in my literature texts for A-Levels and for degree, but that was seriousl going against type.

What is your favorite language to read in? English, but I am starting to read children’s books in German and Italian and I am enjoying the challenge.

What makes you love a book? If it ‘spoke’ to me, characters, ideas, whether or not it made me think, if I come back to it, sheer enjoyment and a pleasurable read.

What will inspire you to recommend a book? I don’t tend to recommend a massive amount of books, but generally simply if when I read something and it makes me think of a friend who might like it then I will suggest it. Equally I enjoy suggestions made to me as I frequently draw a blank as to what to read next, given that I read so much. (My record was 258 in 2007… I keep track of what I read… I found I was forgetting what I had read and was re-reading things thinking I’d never read them before, so since 2006 I have been keeping track, of films I watch also)

Favorite genre? Not really a genre, but I think they kind of fit into a genre all of their own. Terry Pratchett and Jasper Fforde, they really canot be tied down to a singular genre in my opinion.

Genre you rarely read (but wish you did?) I don’t have anything that I don’t read that I want to. That’s rather random isn’t it? If you want to read it, read it, what’s stopping you?

Favorite biography? Don’t read biographies as a general rule, I did read ‘Kate’ though (about Katherine Hepburn) and that was fascinating.

Have you ever read a self-help book? Nope, don’t really see the point.

Favorite cookbook? Any I have read. Quite partial to Betty Crocker, Jamie Oliver and Hugh Fearnley Wittingstall.

Most inspirational book you’ve read this year (fiction or non-fiction)? Define ‘inspirational’! I guess the collected poems of Primo Levi made me think the most.

Favorite reading snack? Apples (generally I don’t snack and read)

Name a case in which hype ruined your reading experience. Dark Materials trilogy, I just didn’t find them that great or even that interesting. I loved Pullman’s Sally Lockhart quartet however, they really were excellent page turning, gripping stuff.

How often do you agree with critics about a book? I very rarely read reviews of anything I am reading or am going to read or have read.

How do you feel about giving bad/negative reviews? See above.

If you could read in a foreign language, which language would you chose? I take it as ‘foreign’ to me? German and Italian more fluently… generally any language would be fair game.

Most intimidating book you’ve ever read? Books shouldn’t intimidate you, that’s not their purpose.

Most intimidating book you’re too nervous to begin? Don’t think I have one.

Favorite Poet? Just one? Primo Levi…. Or Rilke.

How many books do you usually have checked out of the library at any given time? As many as I can find to read, often in the mid to late teens (I can take 20 out, or 35 on my work card (two different libraries) I am a member of 5 across the country.

How often have you returned book to the library unread? 10% of the time, and they are usually ones I started and just didn’t get into at the time.

Favorite fictional character? Mouse from the Dresden Files or Jo March from Little Women or Ruth Jamison from Fried Green Tomatoes at the Whistle Stop Café.

Favorite fictional villain? Acheron Hades from Jasper Ffordes Thursday Next series.

Books I’m most likely to bring on vacation? Anything I am in the mood for at the time I am vacationing.

The longest I’ve gone without reading. 48 hours give or take, every so often I have a (brief) phase where nothing is really inspiring me to want to pick it up.

Name a book that you could/would not finish. As I have got older I have come to the conclusion that if you aren’t enjoying something then you should stop reading it. There is no shame and there is so much out there to read that I’m never going to get through it all anyway, so why waste time with things that I am not enjoying? That said:

What distracts you easily when you’re reading? Very little to be honest… toilet breaks I suppose, or stiffness from sitting/lying for too long.

Favorite film adaptation of a novel? Harry Potter.

Most disappointing film adaptation? Despite it being one of my absolutely favourite films, I still feel that it welched out compared to the book. Fried Green Tomatoes.

The most money I’ve ever spent in the bookstore at one time? £30? Maybe? I tend to use libraries or trade my books, or get them second hand. I rarely buy a book brand spanking new.

How often do you skim a book before reading it? I read the backs religiously, skim very occasionally if I still can’t make a decision having read the back.

What would cause you to stop reading a book half-way through? If I didn’t like it.

Do you like to keep your books organized? Hell yes. I am a librarian, alphabetised all the way, and separation of fiction/non-fiction (and sub genres within non-fiction), graphic novels, poetry and plays all separate.

Do you prefer to keep books or give them away once you’ve read them? I trade about 40% of my books; I try not to get overly attached as my house would be full otherwise.

Are there any books you’ve been avoiding? Thomas Hardy, Jane Austen.

Name a book that made you angry. The Pinhoe Egg ­– Dianna Wynne Jones, unnecessary cruelty by uncle figure, I didn’t see the point of his actions. I never got past the third chapter.

A book you didn’t expect to like but did? It’s not that I didn’t expect to like it, more that it just wasn’t what I expected it to be, in the best possible way. To kill a Mockingbird– Harper Lee.

A book that you expected to like but didn’t? The Players come again – Amanda Cross. It didn’t go anywhere and was an utter waste of reading time, especially compared to some of her other novels which I have generally found to enjoy.

Favorite guilt-free, pleasure reading? There is reading that makes people feel guilty? I just read… I guess girls school stories make people look at me kind of funny… I am 27 after all. It also seems to surprise the hell out of folk that that is a genre I even read, which amuses me greatly.

About Nerdsbian

I am a nerd for ALL seasons. I am a genderqueer Librarian who unsurprisingly likes reading...a lot But I love being outside too...sometimes even reading at the same time. Also animals, any and all of them. Never yet met one that didn't get on with me and vice versa. I do a couple of different voluntary jobs (animal charity related) and have recently completed my MA.
This entry was posted in Thoughts and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

