My theory of the week…specifically Tuesday’s.

Not quite what it sounds, which is some thing akin to a rather horrible segment of Harry Hill I get subjected to whenever I go home. Incidentally that is also indicative of my new found hatred for the television, it’s incredibly invasive. I digress… quite a lot as it happens.

So, back to that theory of the week thing.

It is literally as it seems, I have a theory about the way the week works. Each day has its designation and runs its course in concordance with this… at least to my mind, though my issues with Tuesdays does seem to be catching at an alarming rate, but at least it seems to be contained to just one day of the week.

This is something that I have been giving considerable thought to over the years. My theory has long standing firmly on its side. Of course that doesn’t necessarily mean it is right, neither does it mean that others will agree or disagree with me. A good discussion is everybody’s friend (a bad one just pisses everybody off).

General Theory

Monday – Unlike Garfield I am pretty indifferent to the start of the working week. I have no problems cutting myself away from my precious weekend, nor do I take umbrage at waking up early, especially since I seem to have a proclivity for doing that anyway. Mondays are just fine for me, no need to duck, cover or hide.

Tuesday – Well now, these are a completely different kettle of fish. I am Tuesday’s bitch, or so it would seem. These are the most important in terms of my weekly theory; they are the ones that are the real pisser after all.

Wednesday –  ‘Hump day’ and no, not in the sense those with a prurient mind might think… interestingly that turns out to be everybody I have ever mentioned this theory to. I mean it in the sense that it is the middle of the week, you are neither at the beginning nor in the homeward stretch. Incidentally, I’m rather partial to the German name for Wednesday, it is named exactly as it is: Mittwoch, (midweek) no beating around the bush there then.

Thursday – Feh, but fine, another neither or sort of day.

Friday – TFIF can sometimes be a definite thing, other times it’s just like any other day except that I don’t work the day after it.

Saturday and Sunday – There is nothing wrong or particularly outstanding about either of these days, barring that we (me and my housemate) occasionally have ‘Lounge pant Sunday’ whereby we stay in our Jama’s. It came about because the pyjama’s he has came with the label ‘lounge pants’ the idea of which amused us rather.

As might be obvious, my theory is not particularly strenuous and you can poke holes in it all you fancy. It is the Tuesdays that hold the most water; they are the general bugbears of the week.

So these Tuesday’s of which you speak?

They sneak up on you and BAM there you are in a roaring temper and falling over your own shoes at every opportunity, and believe me I can find any opportunity to fall over my own feet (my personal record is five times on a twenty minute walk to work).

I have had years of bad Tuesdays, no matter how positively I approach them, usually from the back end of a Monday as extra support, they nearly always suck. Well, perhaps that is rather melodramatic. Over the years every lesson I ever disliked was on a Tuesday, they are the days when I seem to be the clumsiest, when things that are going to go wrong do etc.

I try valiantly to not think about them being a bad day, doesn’t seem to make much of a difference. Not every week is ill-fated; it’s more that specifically I find that any unfortunate thing happens on a Tuesday.

Of course then there are those Tuesdays that approach you wearing a hat, i.e. in disguise! Don’t mock the simple suggestion that a hat means disguise, it works for many people, just as glasses and a stammer worked for Clark Kent. These Tuesday’s sneak up on you, you think your regularly programmed Tuesday was harmless and uneventful? Well, keep a look out for as Garfield finds with Monday’s I find that Tuesday are equally prone to random attacks.

Conclusion

My theory is neither foolproof nor water resistant (I tested it) but it does encompass my general feelings about the whole affair… maybe if I changed the name of Tuesday’s, adopted an alternative they wouldn’t be so…Tuesday-ish? DienstagMardi…Martedi… dydd Mawrth…Τρίτη… ום שלישי ?

Perhaps not, but it’s worth a try, break a 12 year tradition and all that.

How do you feel about the week? Any day that particularly gets your goat (or omnivorous creature of your own choosing)?

About Nerdsbian

I am a nerd for ALL seasons. I am a genderqueer wlw Librarian who unsurprisingly likes reading...a lot But I love being outside too...sometimes even reading at the same time. Also animals, any and all of them. Never yet met one that didn't get on with me and vice versa. I do a couple of different voluntary jobs (animal charity related) and have recently completed my MA.
This entry was posted in Essay, Thoughts and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

