Shaglist

(Edit: in retrospect, I have decided that the title and thus the idea behind the concept is rather against what I actually feel, so I am going to be chivalrous, gentlemanly and vey British and change the title, to better reflect my attitude towards the whole thing, namely that I am not relaxed enough to have someone put in front of me and agree to do the horizontal mambo, it’s just not how I am wired, so without further ado I present: ‘The dinner and a movie’ list or alternatively know as ‘Coffee and a chat’)

The Shaglist: This can be many things; real people i.e. people you actually know, characters or people you don’t know… and whatever else might turn your crank. There are no right or wrong answers, there are no limits barring those you set yourself.

I cannot recall where the original idea came from, it was probably mentioned somewhere that I stumbled across once and read… such is life.

Ultimately, due to the nature/type of folk you might choose to include, the premise of the list is an almost entirely shallow one, nothing wrong with that, after all it is only an exercise not a method for living your life. It is not designed to reflect reality, nor is it meant to be some majorly high-brow intellectual endeavour… though it would be interesting if you could claim it was.

So, Shaglist; folk you find attractive and would certainly never say no to, no matter how well or little you know them. In truth that is the part where I fail, if any of them suggested it I probably wouldn’t, partly because I am not into one night stands and secondly because that just isn’t how I view sexual relations of any sort. Naturally I would monumentally kick myself afterwards for having said no, but I like to date a lady before I jump into bed. Just one of my quirks I suppose.

Initially, for me at least, she Shaglist started out purely as an exercise in curiosity and actually resulted in being quite revealing, apparently an added side effect in this instance, (created after much thought and certainly not immutable for it has the potential to change, to be in a constant state of flux, predominantly based upon mood and experience) illustrated to me that my ‘type’ was not in fact what I had originally thought it was, in fact it was generally the polar opposite. I seem to be more partial to the dark haired, dark eyed ladies than anybody else.

I have three lists; committed to paper, or rather PC memory, the Top 10 and the ‘Extra’s’ list, although I think very highly of them also it was just a means of separation, as well as the character list. Whilst many cross the boundaries, I am talking specifically about the attractiveness of the characters on the third list.

Top 10

  1. Maike von Bremen
  2. Alessia Barela
  3. Marian Aguilera
  4. Renee O’Connor
  5. Kristen Bell (specifically season 1 Veronica Mars)
  6. Tina Fey
  7. Pascale Bussiéres
  8. Aubrey Dollar
  9. Laura Harris
  10. Idina Menzel

Extras (in no particular order)

  1. Sarah McLachlan
  2. Kellie Martin – Specifically Lucy Knight
  3. Susanna Thompson
  4. Dina Meyer
  5. Teryl Rothery
  6. AJ Cook
  7. Paget Brewster
  8. Lisa Ray
  9. Sheetal Sheth
  10. Lea Michele
  11. Lauren Lee Smith
  12. Jessica Leccia
  13. Jessica Capshaw
  14. Emily Procter
  15. Lena Headey
  16. Kate Rusby
  17. Annabeth Gish
  18. Famke Jansen (specifically as Judy and Jean Grey)
  19. Amira Casár

Of all the lovely ladies on my list, Renee O’Connor is the only truly consistent one, she has been on the list, since before I knew that was what it was, since I first saw Xena… a very long time ago. Kellie Martin has been on the list since she played Lucy Knight in ER.

The majority of them have been pretty consistent since I originally created the list a couple of years ago.

Of the Top 10; 5 have dark hair (very dark), 6 have dark eyes, 2 auburn haired, 3 blonde and 4 blue eyed.

None are especially tall, which is useful in the unlikely event that anything ever happened as neither am I, neither are they particularly conventionally (loose term, hate the idea as it kind of evokes plasticity in my mind) beautiful, though that concept in and of itself does these lovely ladies a gross injustice, for they are all beautiful. I mean it in the sense that the majority might not end up on the FHM lists for what their opinion is worth.

What has proven particularly interesting is that I have mentioned the idea of the Shaglist to others, specifically the friends I work with and after some clarification on my part they all went off and created their own. I think JTS was the most varied and unpredictable; GL’s was also fairly free love, only NR’s was exclusively heterosexual and that wasn’t really a great surprise. What was a surprise was the interest the idea sparked, several other folk ended up jumping on the band wagon, like one of those childhood playground crazes… the same went for the 101 things that make me happy list I created and then mentioned, though that is somewhat irrelevant at this exact moment in time.

All of the people on my list, because I don’t know any of them personally, are judged primarily on physical characteristics, characters they’ve played and/or interviews they might have done. I admit that this is my only passing flirtation with the idea of celebrity, generally I find the idea abhorrent and have trouble thinking that they are either any better or worse than the rest of us. I certainly don’t really want to know the in and outs of their lives and I don’t see why that is offered, they do their jobs like anybody else, get paid an exorbitant rate for doing so but, generally they are just folk like the rest of us mere mortals.

Nearly all the ladies on my list strike me as pretty smart, articulate and witty, all admittedly, major turn ons.

My main concern is am I demeaning these women in some way by including them in such a shallow based list? It is certainly not my intention and it is something I consider fairly strenuously, and given that I am entirely unknown to them and realistically them to me, am I objectifying them in a negative way?

Additionally:

Character Shaglist

Whilst there is some cross over between character and other Shaglist, it is interesting to see that just because somebody is on one of them it does not necessarily mean the will be on the other.

  1. Marina Ranieri del colle
  2. Veronica Mars
  3. Juliette Gagnon
  4. Silvia Castro
  5. Elphaba Thropp
  6. Arizona Robbins
  7. Ainsley Hayes
  8. Lenara Kahn
  9. Rose Tyler
  10. Jadzia Dax
  11. Scribbs
  12. Peyton Sawyer (early seasons only)
  13. Sam Carter (early seasons)
  14. Janet Fraiser
  15. Lara Perkins
  16. Cindy Thomas
  17. Jill Bernhardt (bookverse more)
  18. Willow Rosenberg (season 1-5)
  19. Kaywinnit Lee Frye
  20. Calleigh Duquesne (early seasons)
  21. Sabrina Duncan
  22. Tiffany Welles
  23. Kris Munroe
  24. Abby Lockhart
  25. Natalia Rivera
  26. Cindy ‘Mac’ MacKenzie
  27. Arizona Robbins

Time travel list

  1. Cheryl Ladd
  2. Winona Ryder (90’s)
  3. Emma Thompson (I wouldn’t say no now either)
  4. Kellie Martin
  5. Imogen Stubbs
  6. Sandra Bullock
  7. Elizabeth Mitchell
  8. Maura Tierney
  9. Mary-Louise Parker
About Nerdsbian

I am a nerd for ALL seasons. I am a genderqueer wlw Librarian who unsurprisingly likes reading...a lot But I love being outside too...sometimes even reading at the same time. Also animals, any and all of them. Never yet met one that didn't get on with me and vice versa. I do a couple of different voluntary jobs (animal charity related) and have recently completed my MA.
This entry was posted in Thoughts and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

