E-mail

Whilst I think they are a fantabulous way of communicating and use them with a great regularity be it for brief thoughts to friends or long winded conversations, or that oft used e-mail to library patrons re: their books and fines etc. However, recently I have found them to be a marginally problematic method of communicating.

A month ago I managed to, via e-mail, have a pseudo-argument with my aunt, someone who I have a very close relationship with and have very rarely shared a cross word between us, which led to defensive behaviour all round and was, in reality, an exercise simply in crossed lines of communication. Damn the anonymity of e-mails and the lack of facial expressions or vocal intonations. Damn them I say.

Apologies have been made all round and all is now clear between us, but waiting for replies from someone you love who you suspect you are having a disagreement with is not the most pleasant of ways to spend your time it must be said.

Word to the wise, think very carefully before you type and as a note to self, re-read both the e-mail you are replying to and your own reply, thoroughly before firing off that irate e-mail in retaliation, it may just save you a moment of irritated vexation at innocent friends and/or family members.

About Nerdsbian

I am a nerd for ALL seasons. I am a genderqueer Librarian who unsurprisingly likes reading...a lot But I love being outside too...sometimes even reading at the same time. Also animals, any and all of them. Never yet met one that didn't get on with me and vice versa. I do a couple of different voluntary jobs (animal charity related) and have recently completed my MA.
This entry was posted in Thoughts and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

