Personal manifesto in a non-communist way

For a start, this isn’t some pseudo-communist thing (at least it isn’t intended to be), it’s just a thought process of some of the traits I value and some of the things I try to utilise and embrace within my life and it’s style. (I hate the words “lifestyle choice” usually they end up being an almost derogatory reference to something that may or may not actually be integral to you and your being, well or otherwise).

So to begin with some of the things that are important to me in my life.

  • Family
  • Honesty
  • Trust
  • Anti-consumerism
  • Environmentally friendly

The most basic statement I can make, is one that I choose and try, for sometimes it is hard, to live by, would be a quote I particularly like from Shakespeare.

“Love all. Trust a few. Do harm to none.”

It covers quite a lot of elements within my belief system, how very useful and all encompassing of him!

To explain; my view of “Love all” isn’t that you have to be in love with everyone, you don’t even have to ‘like’ them on a personal level, I’m talking about respect to all and treating everybody equally and as you would like to be treated, which ties in somewhat to the third part of the statement.

“Do harm to none” this is something that I try very hard to uphold, be it physical or emotional harm. For example, just because something is on the tip of your tongue does not mean that you should necessarily say it. I’m not saying that you should censure yourself exactly, but that you should think before you speak and judge (as in think about who it is in front of you, at that moment, who will hear your statement or comment etc) the audience who is going to be on the receiving end of anything you might have to say.

As for the “Trust a few” this is probably the most negative part of the statement, yet the most true, for a few great friends are by far better than a large swathe of acquaintances. That is not to say that you shouldn’t make friends with a wide range of people but… okay it’s like Facebook, people say ‘oh I have 237 friends’ 99% of the time this means they have that many people they have on their profile, it does not necessarily mean they ‘know’ them, have a lasting relationship with them etc… of course it also doesn’t have to mean that they don’t have this level of connections with those people either.

  • Family

My family are my everything, they are the ones I can call at 3 in the morning (though for preference not on a weekday as they all teach) after a bad dream (just as I would pick up the phone for them) and whilst they might not be at their perkiest at that particular moment in time, they won’t turn you away or dismiss your fears .

They are the ones you want to go home to at the weekend despite living independently from them (and have done pretty much for 7 years now), but you still like crashing on the floor there, helping to make dinner, maybe visit your Gran, take the dogs for a walk, mperhaps watch a film and have a good chat about anything that interests you all at the time.

They are the ones I spend my precious holidays from work with, because I want to and because I can. I am close to all of them, possibly because there are only nine of them (not including myself) in total. The sum total of my family is nine people, four dogs and a cat (That includes; Mom, stepfather, brother, Gran, Aunt, Uncle and three cousins. I really mean everyone).

My family are very close knit and we have a lot of similarities but also a lot of differences, which I think make it a more interesting unit to belong to. There are subsections of interest within the whole along with the shared sense of humour.

  • Honesty and Trust.

I think these two are inextricably linked, whilst they can be treated as separate entities they are remain integral to each other. I try to be honest with myself (which is sometimes probably harder) and with those around me. I say ‘try’ because it doesn’t always work out that way despite the best of intentions. I try not to lie, for really, what is the point of doing so? It isn’t showing any kind of respect to the person you are talking to and you aren’t being honest to yourself either. Also, if you lie to people they are never going to have any trust in you, and indeed why should they?

  • Anti-consumerism/environmentally friendly/responsible

These are things I will probably talk about often (and in public). Again it is something I feel strongly about. I don’t like being advertised ‘at’, I don’t understand why the inherent need for ‘stuff’ is being paraded as being important and something we should aspire to. I think it is irreprehensible that the government are actually encouraging people to live outside their means… I am not saying that people shouldn’t have hopes and aspirations, far from it, but by being encouraged, by a body that we should be able to trust, to spend money they don’t have and purposefully getting into debt over something that just isn’t that important in the long run, people just think it is due to manipulative marketing. Housing all of this stuff and buying it in the first place, with its extraneous packaging and unrecyclable parts, is just part of perpetuating the cycle of consumerism and degrading the environment at the same time.

I do not claim to be entirely innocent in this matter, there are things I like to do, to have and to use… it is one of the areas in my life that I am trying to work on, limiting my intake and thus my outgoings. I avoid advertising by not owning a television or reading magazines since they tend to be heavy on advertising, but again, that’s a topic for another day.

About Nerdsbian

I am a nerd for ALL seasons. I am a genderqueer wlw Librarian who unsurprisingly likes reading...a lot But I love being outside too...sometimes even reading at the same time. Also animals, any and all of them. Never yet met one that didn't get on with me and vice versa. I do a couple of different voluntary jobs (animal charity related) and have recently completed my MA.
This entry was posted in Thoughts and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

